VMT News Ltd
No 1 News Site in Nigeria

Guwor emerges as Speaker of 8th Delta assembly


Guwor emerges as Speaker of 8th Delta assembly

Delta Speaker, Mr Dennis Guwor taking his oat of office on Tuesday in Asaba.

Mr Dennis Guwor (PDP-Warri South West) has emerged as the Speaker of the 8th Assembly of the Delta House of Assembly.

Forty-four year-old Guwor was elected as the speaker shortly after the inauguration of the assembly by Gov. Sheriff Oborevwori on Tuesday in Asaba.

He was nominated by Mr Ferguson Onwo(PDP- Isoko South II) and was seconded by Mrs Marilyn Okowa-Daramola(PDP- Ika North East).

Also, Mr Arthur Akpowhowho (PDP-Ethiope East) emerged as the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly.
The acting Clerk of the House, Mr Otos Aghoghopia, thereafter presided over the election and swearing-in of the Speaker and deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly.

The oath of office was administered to the elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker by the Acting Clerk of the House in line with the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

In his acceptance speech, the speaker while thanking the lawmakers for the confidence repost on him, said the tasks ahead were enormous and promised to pilot the affairs of the House with every sense of responsibility.

He called for maximum support from members and all other relevant stakeholders.
Guwor assured that the interest of the state would be of top priority, saying that the house would perform it constitutional duties diligently without fear or favour.

Read Also: We’ll protect lives and properties of citizens at all…

The speaker said he would do his best to provide the required leadership for the 8th Assembly and to ensure sound cordial relationship between the legislature and the other arms of government in the state.

Those that took oath of office included, Emeka Nwaobi, Aniocha North, Isaac Anwuzia, Aniocha South, Oboro Preyor, Bomadi, Anthony Alapala, Burutu I, Pereotu Oloye, Burutu II, Blessing Achoja, Ethiope West, Marilyn Okowa-Daramola, Ika North East, Festus Okoh, Ika South, Bernard Odior, Isoko North, Bino Obowomano, Isoko South I, Ferguson Onwo, Isoko South II, Prince Emeka Samuta, Ndokwa East and Charles Emetulu, Ndokwa West.

Others were James Augoye, Okpe, Frank Esenwah, Oshimili North, Bridget Anyafulu, Oshimili South, Emmanuel Sinebe, Patani, Collins Egbetamah, Udu, Mathew Omonade, Ughelli North I, Spencer Ohwofa, Ughelli North Two, Festus Utuama, Ughelli South, Perkins Umukoro, Sapele, Chukwudi Dafe, Ukwuani, Edafe Emakpor, Uvwie, Fred Martins, Warri North, Austin Uroye, Warri South One and Benson Obire, Warri South II.

The Member Representing Ndokwa West Constituency, subsequently moved a motion directing the Clerk to inform the governor, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori that the 8th Assembly has been fully constituted and elected Mr Dennis Guwor and Arthur Akpowhowho as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Support Voice Media Trust journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country, we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to Voice Media Trust, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Donate into:

Dollar Account:

  • A/C NO: 3003093745

Naira Account:

  • A/C NO: 1023717841

Leave a Reply