VMT News Ltd
No 1 News Site in Nigeria

Odunwa emerges new Speaker of Ebonyi House of Assembly


Odunwa emerges new Speaker of Ebonyi House of Assembly

Chief Moses Odunwa (APC–Ikwo South) has emerged the Speaker of the seventh Ebonyi House of Assembly.

Odunwa, a two-term member of the assembly was elected unopposed  during its inauguration by Gov. Francis Nwifuru on Tuesday in Abakaliki.

Chief Nkemka Onuma (APC–Afikpo South West) nominated Odunwa for the position and it was seconded by Mr Godwin Abiri (APC–Izzi West).

Mr Chinedu Onah (APC-Ohaukwu South) was elected the Deputy Speaker of the assembly also unopposed.

Mr Celestine Ogba (LP–Onicha East) nominated Onah for the position and it was seconded by Mr Friday Ogbuewu (APC–Ezza South).

The Immediate Past Deputy Speaker of the assembly, Chief Kingsley Ikoro emerged the Majority Leader of the House while Chief Nkemka Onuma emerged the Majority Whip.

Chief Joseph Ununu (APC–Abakaliki North) emerged the Deputy Leader of the assembly while Mr Arinze Lucas (Ishielu South) emerged the Deputy Whip of the assembly.

Odunwa, in his acceptance speech as the speaker, thanked the members for electing him, assuring that he would judiciously discharge his duties.

“I thank Governor Francis Nwifuru for his love and care and his predecessor, Chief David Umahi for ensuring my emergence as a member of the assembly in 2019.

“This helped me attain the position of the speaker and I thank others who contributed in making this dream a reality,” he said.

Read Also: UBEC trains 42 SUBEB financial officers in Bauchi

He promised that the assembly would cooperate with the executive arm of government in sustaining the state’s development.

“We will however, not compromise on our legislative duties of formulating laws which would enhance the well-being of the people,” he said.

The Voice Media Trust (VMT NEWS) reports that the assembly received and announced the lists of the governor’s commissioner nominees while fixing June 14 for their screening.

The APC dominates the 24-member assembly with 19 seats while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance trail with two seats each.

The Labour Party has one seat.

Odunwa emerges new Speaker of Ebonyi House of Assembly

Support Voice Media Trust journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country, we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to Voice Media Trust, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Donate into:

Dollar Account:

  • A/C NO: 3003093745

Naira Account:

  • A/C NO: 1023717841

Leave a Reply