VMT News Ltd
No 1 News Site in Nigeria

6 APC Aspirants Insist On Direct Primaries For Sokoto Guber Ticket


6 APC Aspirants Insist On Direct Primaries For Sokoto Guber Ticket


As the All Progressive Congress (APC) prepares for it’s governorship primaries today, 6 out of the seven aspirants in Sokoto have insisted on direct primaries. 

The six guber aspirants, include Senator Abdullahi Umar Gada, Hon Dr Abdullahi Balarabe Salame, Ambassador Faruk Malami Yabo, former Minister, Yusuf Suleiman, Senator Ibrahim Gobir and Alhaji Abubakar Gumbi.

Addressing newsmen on their behalf in Sokoto, Senator Abdullahi Umar Gada and Hon Abubakar Balarabe Salame urged APC National Working Committee to act fast before the party’s chance becomes flawed by illegality. 

While insisting that the APC in Sokoto has no leadership, Senator Gada said, “Chairman should recall that only few days to the primaries, a pronouncement was made by the Sokoto state Federal High Court with a confused pronouncement that is neither here nor there. 

“”‘Consequently, in order to to put the party in strong position, the 6oit of the 7 aspirants formally requested for direct primaries as contained in the electoral act 2022 as amended”.

Read Also: Buhari departs Abuja for AU Extra-ordinary Summit in Malabo

Continuing, they said, “While waiting for the gracious approval of the NWC, we the undersigned have opted to be on the side of the law by deciding to keep away from the charade about to take place in the Sokoto state APC. We make.bold to submit that whatever happens in the course of this so called exercise cannot stand the test of law. Thereby putting the state chapter at the highest risk of nullification of whatever may emanate  therefrom irredeemably”. 

It will be recalled that the Sokoto state chapter of APC has been engulfed in inter party crisis over leadership with three factions claiming legitimacy. 
The party was until recently seen by pundits as a house divided against itself with each of the three factions having chairman. 

Mainasara Sani, was the chairman of Senator Gada’s faction and enjoyed the backing of Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the federation, Abubakar Malami (SAN) while Alhaji Dogon Daji remained the chairman of Hon Balarabe Salame’s faction and Hon Sadiq Isa Achida heading the Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko led faction.

Resultantly, the party has been enmeshed in series of litigations until recently when Justice James Kolawole Omotosho of the Federal High Court sitting in Sokoto reaffirmed Hon Sadiq Isa Achida as the duly recognized State chairman of the party.

Support Voice Media Trust journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country, we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to Voice Media Trust, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.

Donate into:

Dollar Account:

  • A/C NO: 3003093745

Naira Account:

  • A/C NO: 1023717841

Leave a Reply